Assimilation / Travel

I GOT IT!!!

During my meeting with the Bird Man this morning, I received a text message. I tried to read it quickly, as I was engaged in a conversation with a man holding over 40 birds in his hand, and did not want to be rude. I read it once. Then twice. Then I read it again. Then I screamed and leapt into the air, giving Mr. Bird Man a start and sending the 40+ birds scattering in all directions, including into the faces of passerby tourists. “Are you Ok?” Steve the Bird Man asked me.

“YES! YES! YES!” I exclaimed. “I just got approved for my visa! I’m moving to Sweden!” I jumped up and down for a few minutes, ensuring that every last bird had flown a safe distance, and hugged my new Danish friend who had joined me for the sunrise. I thanked Steve for being so wonderful, and made my way back to the hostel- my place of residence during the past 6 months.

I very literally ran through the hostel shouting with happiness. “I got it! I was approved!” I showed my sister the text message from my boyfriend Jens in Sweden “Good news! Your visa was approved!” I didn’t know how on earth he knew before I did, but I didn’t question it. I was just beside myself with excitement. I could finally start feeling comfortable with moving forward.

Truth be told, I was a little worried I would not be approved. I thought they would find some reason to deny my visa, and I would be stuck in the US without a way to live with my love. I just continued to move forward, making plans to visit my home in Vermont to bid farewell to my family and friends, hoping I would hear from the Embassy sometime before July, when I was hoping to move to Sweden.

We didn’t even expect to hear them until the end of May, at the earliest. Even then we expected at least a formal interview process before we would be approved. Nope. Not at all. I finally signed on to Skype and got the full news from Jens: He received a letter stating that the Embassy of Sweden was granting me a two year visa to live and work in Sweden. Under the rules of the visa, I must live with Jens (no problem) and we must remain in a relationship (yes please!) for my visa to be valid. In just under two years, I will have to renew my visa.

So it looks like I will be officially moving to Sweden in two and half months! SO SOON! I have a lot to do in the meantime. Many things to pack, people to visit, and farewell hugs to give. I am sad to say goodbye to my friends and family, but also excited to start my new life in Sweden with Jens.

3 thoughts on “I GOT IT!!!

  1. So excited for you! Can’t wait to read your stories and hear of your adventures. You’re an exellent writer so I’m glad you decided to start this blog! 🙂

  2. Thanks my lovelies! I am very excited about this blog. Thanks for the love and support, I can’t wait to share more, and also to read yours! 😀

Leave a Reply

